This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Head out on an art crawl of the city, with our picks of the exhibitions and artists' events on in Sheffield this month.

Browse the What's On calendar for even more art events.

Photomarathon Sheffield

Sat. 28 September 2019

Winter Garden, 90 Surrey Street, S1 2LH

Ready, set, snap! Booking opens on Monday 29th July at midday – with a limited number of free places for under-16s.

What is the Matter?

Thu. 12 September 2019 — Sun. 29 September 2019

Kelham Island Museum

An exhibition of sculptural works by women artists from the Material Voice collective, responding to artefacts and stories from the museum’s displays and collections. Read our review.

Fall, slump, drop on a bedside cabinet in water...

Fri. 13 September 2019 — Sat. 12 October 2019

Bloc Projects

An exhibition by Alex Farrar about despairing bodies, collapsing under the weight of a climate catastrophe – which feels uncomfortably familiar. Read our Hannah's review and visit the flooded gallery to see it up close.

It Moves Forward

Sat. 20 July 2019 — Sat. 26 October 2019

Graves Gallery

An exhibition of the work of Richard Hamilton, one of the founding fathers of Pop Art.

The Unknown

Thu. 19 September 2019 — Sun. 27 October 2019

Yorkshire Artspace

How do we visualise the invisible? With this series of paintings and VR landscapes, Arantza Pardo explores the often subtle boundary between art and science. Plus, there's chance to join in a virtual reality painting session.

Squaring the Circle

Fri. 6 September 2019 — Thu. 31 October 2019

The Circle, 33 Rockingham Lane, S1 4FW

An exhibition of striking work by Stephen Carley and Nick Grindrod – each led by the way materials behave, self-imposed parameters, and intuitive mark-making. Read our Sean's review.

Joe Scarborough: Life in the Big Village

Sat. 17 August 2019 — Sun. 24 November 2019

Weston Park Museum

Over 60 paintings and drawings from the 50-year career of one of Sheffield's best-loved artists.

Ilona Sagar: Deep Structure

Fri. 11 October 2019 — Sat. 14 December 2019

S1 Artspace

A new film and exhibition by artist Ilona Sagar, exploring the links between architecture, health and community wellbeing through the lens of Sheffield’s Park Hill estate.

Rewriting The Future

Fri. 27 September 2019 — Sun. 26 January 2020

Site Gallery

Exploring alternative narratives on gender, power, ecology and community.