This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Head out on an art crawl of the city, with our picks of the exhibitions and artists' events on in Sheffield this March and April.

Browse the What's On calendar for even more art events.

Scale

Thu. 14 February 2019 — Sun. 24 March 2019

Yorkshire Artspace

An open-door residency and exhibition of new ceramic work by Penny Withers, inspired by Peak District rock formations.

One Hundred Views of the Arts Tower

Mon. 11 February 2019 — Sun. 31 March 2019

Western Bank Library

A celebration a Sheffield modernist beacon, bringing together a hundred artworks shared by the public and delving into the archives.

Mausoleum of the Giants

Fri. 15 March 2019 — Sat. 6 April 2019

Eye Witness Works, Milton Street, S3 7WJ

A solo show by Phlegm, creating an immersive sculptural installation in an abandoned factory.

8 Paint

Fri. 5 April 2019 — Tue. 9 April 2019

Gage Gallery

Eight artists from three of the city's studio groups come together for an exhibition of contemporary painting. Our preview...

Who We Are: Photographs by Martin Jenkinson

Sat. 24 November 2018 — Sun. 14 April 2019

Weston Park Museum

An exercise in understanding both history and humanity. Read our exhibition review.

Construction House: Radical Materials

Thu. 21 February 2019 — Sat. 20 April 2019

S1 Artspace

The final exhibition in S1 Artspace's Bauhaus-inspired series focuses on the practical workshops held at the influential school, which brought together creativity and experimentation with materials with industrial manufacturing processes.

Women March!

Tue. 5 March 2019 — Sat. 27 April 2019

DINA

Protest photography by women – from Sheffield Woman Against Pit Closures to the Women's March to women standing against Yarlswood detention centre, resisting the occupation in Nabi Saleh, Palestine, and more.

Exquisite Bodies

Thu. 4 April 2019 — Sun. 28 April 2019

Yorkshire Artspace

Four artists collaborate live in the gallery, creating new ceramic pieces based on the game of collective creation known as exquisite corpse.

Joy Labinjo: As We Were

Fri. 5 April 2019 — Sat. 4 May 2019

Bloc Projects

The artist presents new work on themes of identity, the complexity of familial relationships, and what it means to immortalise characters in paint.

Leonardo da Vinci: A Life in Drawing

Fri. 1 February 2019 — Mon. 6 May 2019

Millennium Gallery

A rare chance to see the working method of a genius up close, 500 years on from his death.

Re-collections: Susan Hiller, Elizabeth Price, Georgain Starr

Sat. 16 February 2019 — Sun. 19 May 2019

Site Gallery

Bringing together the work of three phenomenal artists from Site’s archive, marking the start of the gallery's 40th year.

The Vehicle of Nature

Sat. 19 January 2019 — Sun. 26 May 2019

Millennium Gallery

A video installation by Universal Everything, inspired by Leonardo Da Vinci's exquisitely detailed sketches that capture the rushing flow of water.

Vessel

Sat. 27 April 2019 — Sat. 1 June 2019

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition from the Northern Potters Association.