This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Make some plans with our picks of events, our art and theatre reviews, and programme highlights from the city's main festivals and venues.

Composed

Thu. 19 September 2019

​​​​​​​A feminist and playfully subversive investigation into experiences of working in the arts, asking where individuals fit in hierarchical organisations.

Reasons To Stay Alive

Fri. 13 September 2019 — Sat. 28 September 2019

Crucible Theatre

A theatrical adaptation of Matt Haig's frank and funny bestseller, celebrating what it means to be alive.

Cinderella

Tue. 24 September 2019 — Sat. 28 September 2019

Lyceum Theatre

An enchanting winter wonderland with Northern Ballet’s beautiful re-imagining of Cinderella.

100 Years

Thu. 3 October 2019 — Fri. 4 October 2019

Theatre Deli

A mischievous look at bloodlines, breeding and the weight of inheritance in a radical re-imagining of Marquez's landmark novel One Hundred Years of Solitude.

We Will Rock You

Mon. 30 September 2019 — Sat. 5 October 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Queen and Ben Elton's mega hit comes to the Sheffield stage.

Terror From the Skies

Sat. 5 October 2019

Theatre Deli

A solo storytelling show questioning the impact of big business capitalism on local communities, and asking questions about the other myths that unite and divide us in our shared spaces.

The Woman in Black

Mon. 7 October 2019 — Sat. 12 October 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Susan Hill’s acclaimed ghost story comes to the Sheffield stage, with the story of a lawyer who becomes convinced that his family are cursed.

How to Keep Time

Wed. 16 October 2019

Theatre Deli

Using just his voice and an electronic drum kit, spoken word artist Antosh Wojcik explores the effects of dementia on speech, memory and family.

It's True, It's True, It's True

Thu. 17 October 2019

Theatre Deli

A re-staging of the 1612 trial of Agostino Tassi for the rape of baroque painter Artemisia Gentileschi, based on surviving court transcripts. It's the trial that gripped Renaissance Rome, but how much has changed in the last four centuries?

The Last King of Scotland

Fri. 27 September 2019 — Sat. 19 October 2019

Crucible Theatre

The first stage adaptation of the novel that inspired the Oscar-winning movie, The Last King of Scotland is an electrifying thriller about corruption and complicity set in Uganda.

On Your Feet!

Tue. 15 October 2019 — Sat. 19 October 2019

Lyceum Theatre

The true love story of Gloria and Emilio Estefan, told in musical form.

Black Men Walking

Mon. 14 October 2019 — Sat. 19 October 2019

Crucible Theatre

Returning to Sheffield after a sell-out run, this is the story of walkers Thomas, Matthew and Richard. Out in the Peaks, they find themselves forced to walk backwards through two thousand years before they can move forwards.

Alice in Wonderland

Sun. 20 October 2019

The Montgomery

Join the tea party and meet the Mad Hatter, the White Rabbit, Cheshire Cat and the Queen of Hearts.

Ten Times Table

Mon. 21 October 2019 — Sat. 26 October 2019

Lyceum Theatre

"The committee from hell… and a fête worse than death!" One of comedy master Alan Ayckbourn’s most hilarious plays.

Signals

Mon. 28 October 2019

Crucible Theatre

A new dark comedy about human connection, space exploration and Jaffa Cakes.

Queens of Sheba

Tue. 29 October 2019 — Thu. 31 October 2019

Theatre Deli

Turned away from a nightclub for being “too black”, four women take to the stage with their own explosive true stories.

Curtains

Tue. 29 October 2019 — Sat. 2 November 2019

Lyceum Theatre

A hilarious whodunnit packed full of catchy songs, unforgettable characters and plot twists galore.

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

Tue. 5 November 2019 — Sat. 9 November 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Webber’s magical family musical comes to Sheffield, retelling the Biblical story of Joseph, his eleven brothers and the coat of many colours.

The Chimpanzees of Happytown

Sat. 9 November 2019

Crucible Theatre

A concert for families, telling the heartwarming story of Chutney the Chimp and celebrating the importance of love and happiness in everyone’s lives.

Shrek The Musical

Tue. 12 November 2019 — Sat. 16 November 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Turning the world of fairy tales upside down.

My Mother Said I Never Should

Fri. 8 November 2019 — Sat. 23 November 2019

Crucible Theatre

A moving exploration of the lives of four generations of women in one family, shifting back and forth in time through the huge social changes of the past century.

Motown

Tue. 19 November 2019 — Sat. 30 November 2019

Lyceum Theatre

The hit West End musical brings the story of the record label's founder and legendary artists to the Sheffield stage.

The Elves and the Shoemakers

Thu. 5 December 2019 — Sat. 4 January 2020

Crucible Theatre

A festive treat for all the family, with live music and puppetry.

Cinderella

Fri. 6 December 2019 — Sun. 5 January 2020

Lyceum Theatre

Panto time!

The Nutcracker

Tue. 7 January 2020 — Sat. 11 January 2020

Lyceum Theatre

Tchaikovsky’s enchanting score comes to life in a suitably festive show from Saint Petersburg Classic Ballet.

Guys and Dolls

Sat. 7 December 2019 — Sat. 18 January 2020

Lyceum Theatre

Roll the dice and fall in love under the bright lights of New York city.

My Cousin Rachel

Mon. 20 January 2020 — Sat. 25 January 2020

Lyceum Theatre

A menacing psychological thriller by Daphne du Maurier, adaptated by Joseph O’Connor.

Peter Pan Goes Wrong

Tue. 28 January 2020 — Sat. 1 February 2020

Lyceum Theatre

Mischief Theatre return with their riotous spin on a timeless classic.

Everybody’s Talking About Jamie

Sat. 8 February 2020 — Sat. 29 February 2020

Lyceum Theatre

The homecoming of Sheffield Theatres' smash hit musical.

Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Mon. 2 March 2020 — Sat. 7 March 2020

Lyceum Theatre

An adventure of self-discovery, sassiness and acceptance.

A Monster Calls

Tue. 10 March 2020 — Sat. 14 March 2020

Lyceum Theatre

Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls is brought to life by visionary director Sally Cookson. A dazzling insight into love, life and healing.

Cabaret

Tue. 17 March 2020 — Sat. 21 March 2020

Lyceum Theatre

The award-winning landmark musical comes to town – show-stopping choreography, dazzling costumes, iconic songs, and all.

Geisha

Tue. 24 March 2020 — Sat. 28 March 2020

Lyceum Theatre

Two young women, bound by vows of friendship, find themselves in the midst of a collision between East and West in this ballet based on a true story.

Once

Tue. 5 May 2020 — Sat. 9 May 2020

Lyceum Theatre

A spell-binding and uplifting story of hopes and dreams centred on two lost souls: a Dublin street busker and a Czech musician.

Derren Brown: Showman

Tue. 14 July 2020 — Sat. 18 July 2020

Lyceum Theatre

The master of mind control and psychological illusion returns to the stage with a brand new live show.