This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Make some plans with our picks of events, our art and theatre reviews, and programme highlights from the city's main festivals and venues.

Benidorm Live

Mon. 21 January 2019 — Sat. 26 January 2019

Lyceum Theatre

See the stars from the Solana live on stage for the first time.

standing; remember

Wed. 30 January 2019

Theatre Deli

A experimental and understated performance directed by Soraya Nabipour, exploring what it means to make the private public.

The Department of Distractions

Fri. 25 January 2019 — Sat. 2 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

A conspiracy-theory documentary-exposé detective story for the 21st century that asks: what aren’t you looking at? From the ever innovative Third Angel.

The Worst Witch

Tue. 29 January 2019 — Sat. 2 February 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Long before Harry Potter there was Mildred Hubble. An ordinary girl who found herself in an extraordinary place: a school for witches.

good dog

Thu. 7 February 2019 — Fri. 8 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

An early-2000s story of growing up in a multi-cultural community, and the everyday injustices that drive people to take back control.

Blood Brothers

Tue. 5 February 2019 — Sat. 9 February 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Willy Russell's captivating tale of twins, separated at birth, who grow up on opposite sides of the tracks only to meet again with fateful consequences.

Gypsy Queen

Sat. 9 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

A love story about two men who find each other in the most unlikely of worlds.

The Cabinet of Madame Fanny Du Thé

Fri. 8 February 2019 — Sat. 9 February 2019

Theatre Deli

Reach into her cabinet and join Fanny on a musical, riotous voyage of hilarity and curiosity.

Bi-Curious George and Other Sidekicks

Wed. 13 February 2019

Theatre Deli

A father-daughter show, in which an artist and her Punch and Judy-performing dad explore their relationship through recollections of all the times they've performed together.

The Mousetrap

Mon. 11 February 2019 — Sat. 16 February 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Discover why Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap has kept people guessing for so long, becoming the longest running show in the history of theatre.

A Reyt Queer Do: Electric Dreams Edition

Sat. 16 February 2019 — Sun. 17 February 2019

Theatre Deli

Join Andro and Eve as they glide on a dry ice cloud back to the 80s, with queer cabaret performances hosted by drag king Louis Cyfer and a DJ set from Chardine Taylor-Stone.

Pink Lemonade

Fri. 22 February 2019

Theatre Deli

An exploration of masculinity and lesbianism in Black womxn, performed to a backdrop of verbatim, poetry and sound.

Rutherford and Son

Fri. 8 February 2019 — Sat. 23 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

Githa Sowerby’s celebrated classic about the struggle for supremacy, legacy and deciding one’s own destiny.

The Rocky Horror Show

Mon. 18 February 2019 — Sat. 23 February 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Richard O’Brien’s legendary rock ‘n’ roll musical returns to Sheffield on its worldwide tour.

Stripey Honey... is very yummy!

Wed. 27 February 2019

Theatre Deli

A touching and funny play for young audiences, using music, puppetry, song and dance to tell a story of tigers, bees and honey collectors learning to live and play together.

Baby Face

Thu. 28 February 2019

Theatre Deli

Following her hit success at the Edinburgh Fringe, performance artist Katy Dye brings to town her show about the infantilisation of women.

Saturday Night Fever

Tue. 26 February 2019 — Sat. 2 March 2019

Lyceum Theatre

40 years since its UK cinema release, Saturday Night Fever is spectacularly re-imagined in a music and dance extravaganza.

Rouse, Ye Women

Tue. 26 February 2019 — Sat. 2 March 2019

Lantern Theatre

A powerful folk opera telling the story of trade unionist Mary Reid Macarthur, who in 1910 led the women chain makers of Cradley Heath to victory in their fight for a minimum wage.

hang

Thu. 21 February 2019 — Sat. 9 March 2019

Crucible Theatre

debbie tucker green’s provocative and haunting play about a victim turning the tables on a perpetrator.

Club Tropicana

Mon. 4 March 2019 — Sat. 9 March 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Take a trip back to the electric 80s and embark on a summer of love and smash-hit classics.

Standing at the Sky's Edge

Fri. 15 March 2019 — Sat. 6 April 2019

Crucible Theatre

A story of 50 years of Park Hill, with music by Richard Hawley.