This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Make some plans with our picks of events, our art and theatre reviews, and programme highlights from the city's main festivals and venues.

Artist Talk: Yemi Awosile

Wed. 23 May 2018

DINA

Hear from the London-based artist about her work with textiles and printed matter.

Syllabus III x Tough Matter: Open Call

Fri. 25 May 2018

Delicious Clam, 12 Exchange Street, S2 5TS

A multidisciplinary evening of art, performance, video and sound exploring gender and industry.

Rhesus Negative

Sat. 28 April 2018 — Sat. 2 June 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exploration of the fragility and power of our bodies, by three artists.

Hope is Strong

Sat. 17 February 2018 — Sun. 10 June 2018

Millennium Gallery

Art disrupts systems of power in an exhibition for these turbulent times – with work by Jeremy Deller, Mona Hatoum, Keith Piper and more. Our review...

Artist Talk: Jasleen Kaur

Thu. 14 June 2018

Bloc Projects

Hear from the London-based artist about her work examining the hierarchy of histories and labour through sculpture, video, conversation and cooking.

Migration Matters

Tue. 19 June 2018 — Sat. 23 June 2018

Celebrating culture, creativity and companionship in our city of sanctuary.

Portraits from the Market

Thu. 17 May 2018 — Sun. 24 June 2018

Yorkshire Artspace

A look at the Moor Market and its community of stallholders and visitors by painter Andrew Hunt and photographer Chris Saunders. Our review...

Changing Lives: 200 Years of People and Protest in Sheffield

Tue. 6 February 2018 — Sun. 1 July 2018

Weston Park Museum

A celebration of an outspoken city. Our review...

Seize the Day

Sat. 9 June 2018 — Sat. 7 July 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition of work by Clare Bassett.

Playground

Tue. 3 July 2018 — Sun. 8 July 2018

Millennium Gallery

Chance to play with the latest VR games and digital toys.

Received Dissent: An American Mail Art Project

Tue. 3 April 2018 — Sat. 28 July 2018

Graves Gallery

A collection of art never meant for gallery walls, but created to be received by post. Featuring work by Man Ray, Yoko Ono, Marcel Duchamp, Roy Lichtenstein and Méret Oppenheim. Our review...

Figure

Sat. 14 July 2018 — Sat. 25 August 2018

Cupola Gallery

A group show at Hillsborough's Cupola gallery.

Victorian Giants: The Birth of Art Photography

Sat. 30 June 2018 — Sun. 23 September 2018

Millennium Gallery

Experimental photos from the Victorian era by Lewis Carroll, Julia Margaret Cameron, Oscar Rejlander and Clementina Hawarden, on tour from the National Portrait Gallery.

Powerful Silence

Sat. 1 September 2018 — Sat. 6 October 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition of work by Bren Head.

Circus!

Wed. 25 July 2018 — Sun. 4 November 2018

Weston Park Museum

Roll up, roll up, for a celebration of the circus and the performers who brought it to life.

Sheffield Print Fair

Sat. 10 November 2018

St Mary’s Church and Community Centre

Watch printmaking in action and pick up a print or two to take home.

Peaks

Sat. 13 October 2018 — Sat. 17 November 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition of work by Alison Tyldesley, Paul Evans, John Bainbridge and Rebecca Buck.

Yorkshire Artspace Open Studios

Sat. 17 November 2018 — Sun. 18 November 2018

Yorkshire Artspace

A weekend of nosying around some of the most fascinating artists' studios in town.