This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Sheffield Festivals Guide

Sheffield is home to some incredible, and incredibly unique, cultural festivals.

Read on for what's still to come in our guide to Sheffield's cultural festivals for 2024. Featuring music, film, visual art, theatre, and more. Let us know if we've missed anything!

Bassfest Summer Festival

Sat. 20 July 2024 — Sun. 21 July 2024

Don Valley Bowl

Dedicated to drum and bass, house, bassline, and beyond.

Sheffield Transformed Festival

Fri. 19 July 2024 — Sun. 21 July 2024

SADACCA, 48 Wicker, S3 8JB

A celebration of left-wing politics and arts. With chance to hear new ideas, take part in discussion, enjoy art, be creative, and get together at a party.

Future Now Festival of Creativity

Mon. 22 April 2024 — Sat. 27 July 2024

A showcase of work by Sheffield Hallam University’s graduating artists, designers, filmmakers, animators, writers, architects and performers.

Tramlines

Fri. 26 July 2024 — Sun. 28 July 2024

Hillsborough Park

A three-day summertime celebration of music. Lineup for 2024 coming soon.

The Fringe Stage

Sat. 27 July 2024 — Sun. 28 July 2024

Devonshire Green, S1 4GT

Home to the official Tramlines Fringe, the Devonshire Green stage will be showcasing an array of world music and local talent over the weekend. With 10-piece Mango Rescue Team, the uplifting Shine Choir, DJ, poet and dancer Ripton Lindsey, and more.

Sharrow Festival

Mount Pleasant Park, Abbeydale Road, S7 1BY

Sharrow Festival has been a special part of its local community since 1996. Join in the family-friendly celebration of the area's culture and diversity – 2024 details to come.

Rock N Roll Circus

Thu. 29 August 2024 — Sat. 31 August 2024

Don Valley Bowl, S9 2DF

Roll up, roll up! Part music festival, part circus, the Rock N Roll Circus is coming back to town. With headliners Richard Hawley, Becky Hill and Milburn. Plus aerialists, stilt walkers, fortune tellers and more.

Sheffield Showcase

Fri. 6 September 2024 — Sun. 8 September 2024

A collaborative weekend-long event, showcasing the variety of cultural activity that takes place in Sheffield. With film screenings, music performances, art exhibits, family-friendly activities, and more.

Sheffield Heritage Open Days

Fri. 6 September 2024 — Sun. 15 September 2024

Ten days to explore heritage treasures across the city.

Float Along Festival

Sat. 28 September 2024

Float Along music festival returns to Sheffield city centre to do it all again for the third year running. This year's lineup includes: Shame, Antony Szmierek, Fat Dog, Scaler, Snapped Ankles, and more.

Festival of the Mind

Thu. 19 September 2024 — Sun. 29 September 2024

Feed your mind with a series of fascinating and inspiring talks, exhibitions and performances. Organised by folks from the University of Sheffield in collaboration with local artists and creatives.

Spirit of Independence Film Festival

Fri. 27 September 2024 — Sun. 29 September 2024

A celebration of fiercely independent filmmaking, showcasing raw, bold and passionate films from around the world.

Sensoria

Thu. 3 October 2024 — Sun. 6 October 2024

Sheffield's festival of film and music. Expect a truly unique mix of performance, live film scores, screenings, exhibitions, and music industry activity.

No Bounds

Fri. 11 October 2024 — Sun. 13 October 2024

A weekend of bleeps, beats and sweaty grins. Returning in October to bring together music, visual art and technology.

Celluloid Screams

Thu. 24 October 2024 — Sun. 27 October 2024

Showroom

Sheffield’s horror film festival returns for its 16th year in 2024. Getting you spooked just in time for Halloween.

Off the Shelf

Sheffield's festival of words, taking place each October. Look out for our guide to the writer talks, workshops and events in the 2024 programme in coming months.

Steel City Beer & Cider Festival

Kelham Island Museum

Sheffield CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ale) know a thing or two about good beer, cider and perry. Join them for their 48th festival in October 2024 – details TBC.

Classical Weekend

One big celebration of classical music. Bringing classical music to concert halls, gardens and public spaces across the city, every other year. Returning in 2025.