This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Sheffield Festivals Guide

Sheffield is home to some incredible, and incredibly unique, cultural festivals. Some are long-standing stalwarts of the city's annual cultural calendar. Others are newcomers, providing the city with more ways to come together as local venues gradually bounce back from the impact of the pandemic.

Read on for what's still to come in our guide to Sheffield's cultural festivals for 2022. Featuring music, film, visual art, theatre, and more. Let us know if we've missed anything!

Sheffield Chamber Music Festival

Fri. 13 May 2022 — Sat. 21 May 2022

Crucible Theatre

Nine days of intimate and inviting chamber music performances.

Festival of Debate

Tue. 19 April 2022 — Mon. 30 May 2022

Get informed, inspired and filled with ideas for positive change. With talks on big social, political, environmental and economic issues. 2022 headliners: Gloria Steinem, David Wengrow, Jeremy Corbyn, Led By Donkeys, Shon Faye and George Monbiot.

Enable US Festival of Theatre

Sat. 5 March 2022 — Wed. 1 June 2022

Drama Studio

Twice a year the Enable US festival brings unmissable and intriguing pieces of new theatre and performance to the beautiful Drama Studio at Sheffield Uni.

Sheffield Food Festival

Thu. 2 June 2022 — Sun. 5 June 2022

Peace Gardens

Four (hopefully) sunny days of food, food and more food.

Peace in the Park

Sat. 11 June 2022

The Ponderosa

Music, community arts and positive vibes in the sunshine.

Migration Matters Festival

A celebration of culture, creativity and companionship, marking Refugee Week in our city of sanctuary. Come back soon for dates and details of Migration Matters 2022.

Sheffield DocFest

Thu. 23 June 2022 — Tue. 28 June 2022

Showroom

The world of documentary film descends on Sheffield each June. With a programme of fascinating factual films, innovative storytelling exhibitions, and inspiring talks.

Sharrow Festival

Sat. 9 July 2022

Mount Pleasant Park, Abbeydale Road, S7 1BY

Sharrow Festival has been a special part of its local community since 1996. Join in the family-friendly celebration of the area's culture and diversity.

Bassfest Summer Festival

Sat. 16 July 2022 — Sun. 17 July 2022

Don Valley Bowl

Two days dedicated to drum and bass, house, bassline, and beyond. Lineup to be announced.

Tramlines

Fri. 22 July 2022 — Sun. 24 July 2022

Hillsborough Park

A three-day summertime celebration of music.

Rockin the Bowl

Fri. 9 September 2022 — Sun. 11 September 2022

Don Valley Bowl

"Forged in fire, set in steel." A three-dayer dedicated to bringing open-air rock back to the Don Valley.

Sheffield Heritage Open Days

Fri. 9 September 2022 — Sun. 18 September 2022

Ten days to explore heritage treasures across the city.

Float Along Festival

Sat. 24 September 2022

A brand new multi-venue music festival for Sheffield. With Manchester art rock band Everything Everything, local psych and post-punk favourites Sister Wives, London dance-rock band Los Bitchos, and more.

Festival of the Mind

Feed your mind with a series of fascinating and inspiring talks, exhibitions and events. Returning in September 2022 – dates and details coming soon.

Sensoria

Fri. 30 September 2022 — Sat. 8 October 2022

Sheffield's festival of film and music. Expect a truly unique mix of performance, live film scores, screenings, exhibitions, and music industry activity.

No Bounds

Fri. 14 October 2022 — Sun. 16 October 2022

A weekend of bleeps, beats and sweaty grins. Bringing together music, visual art, and technology. Earlybird weekend passes on sale now.

Steel City Beer & Cider Festival

Wed. 19 October 2022 — Sat. 22 October 2022

Kelham Island Museum

Sheffield CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ale) know a thing or two about good beer, cider and perry. Join them for their 46th festival, alongside live music, street food, a bookshop and more.

Celluloid Screams

Thu. 20 October 2022 — Sun. 23 October 2022

Showroom

Sheffield’s horror film festival. Getting you spooked just in time for Halloween.

Off the Shelf

Fri. 14 October 2022 — Sun. 30 October 2022

Sheffield's annual festival of words.