This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Sheffield Festivals Guide

Sheffield is home to some incredible, and incredibly unique, cultural festivals. Some are long-standing stalwarts of the city's annual cultural calendar. Others are newcomers, providing the city with more ways to come together as local venues gradually bounce back from the impact of the pandemic.

Read on for what's still to come in our guide to Sheffield's cultural festivals for 2022. Featuring music, film, visual art, theatre, and more. Let us know if we've missed anything!

Sheffield Showcase

Fri. 2 September 2022 — Sun. 4 September 2022

A collaborative weekend-long event, showcasing the variety of cultural activity that takes place in Sheffield. With film screenings, music performances, art exhibits, family-friendly activities, and more.

Rockin the Bowl

Fri. 9 September 2022 — Sun. 11 September 2022

Don Valley Bowl

"Forged in fire, set in steel." A three-dayer dedicated to bringing open-air rock back to the Don Valley.

Sheffield Heritage Open Days

Fri. 9 September 2022 — Sun. 18 September 2022

Ten days to explore heritage treasures across the city.

Float Along Festival

Sat. 24 September 2022

A brand new multi-venue music festival for Sheffield. With Manchester art rock band Everything Everything, local psych and post-punk favourites Sister Wives, London dance-rock band Los Bitchos, and more.

Festival of the Mind

Feed your mind with a series of fascinating and inspiring talks, exhibitions and events. Returning in September 2022 – dates and details coming soon.

Sensoria

Fri. 30 September 2022 — Sat. 8 October 2022

Sheffield's festival of film and music. Expect a truly unique mix of performance, live film scores, screenings, exhibitions, and music industry activity.

No Bounds

Fri. 14 October 2022 — Sun. 16 October 2022

A weekend of bleeps, beats and sweaty grins. Bringing together music, visual art, and technology. Earlybird weekend passes on sale now.

Steel City Beer & Cider Festival

Wed. 19 October 2022 — Sat. 22 October 2022

Kelham Island Museum

Sheffield CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ale) know a thing or two about good beer, cider and perry. Join them for their 46th festival, alongside live music, street food, a bookshop and more.

Celluloid Screams

Thu. 20 October 2022 — Sun. 23 October 2022

Showroom

Sheffield’s horror film festival. Getting you spooked just in time for Halloween.

Off the Shelf

Fri. 14 October 2022 — Sun. 30 October 2022

Sheffield's annual festival of words.

Sheffield Adventure Film Festival

Fri. 3 March 2023 — Sun. 5 March 2023

Showroom

Enjoy the great outdoors from the comfort of your cinema seat when ShAFF returns in 2023.